March Madness Feature: Wiz Productions

From professional music videos to commercials, Wiz Productions offers top of the line services for all your video production needs.

IP: Start by telling us more about yourself and your business (educational background, hometown, age you started your business, how business came about, etc.)

My name is Todd “Wiz” Dorsey, born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland, and a graduate of Morgan State University.  I started my business at the age of 23 simply because I noticed a demographic of clients that I could cater to that had no outlet to support their demands.

IP: Quote that keeps you motivated?

“Try to learn something about everything, and everything about something.”

IP: What has been your biggest obstacle being a young entrepreneur and how did you overcome it?

One of my biggest obstacles being a young entrepreneur are the preconceived notions and stereotypes that are derived because of my age.  In the realm of the film business I tend to let my work speak for itself.  Being young also gives me advantages of knowing the latest trends and being well educated on the latest forms of technology that older film-makers may deem unnecessary.

IP: How has age factored into your success?

Being young allows me to have a natural sense of the latest trends and the ability to relate to my core demographic (18-40) of clients.

IP: Describe a day in the life of (company name).

A day at Wiz Productions usually starts with a briefing from my management staff about daily activities and important upcoming events.  Next the production portion of the day begins at a pre-determined location with the client for the day.  The following step of the day, assuming the production ended at an early hour, would be to begin editing the final product on a current project.

IP: Where do you see your company in the next 5 years?

I see my company expanding regionally to fulfill the professional production needs of the surrounding areas.

IP: What advice would you give up and coming entrepreneurs?

Learn the business that you are preparing to enter from a theoretical and a practical standpoint.  If you are in college, definitely intern at a company with similar goals and make sure it’s right for you.

IP: If you could pick a celebrity to be the spokesperson for your company/brand who would it be and why?

I wouldn’t pick a celebrity, I would pick am employee or client from my company.  I would want someone directly involved with my company to exemplify the excellence that my company presents.  We produce a professional product that speaks volumes without a celebrity cosign.

IP: Outside of your business, what are your other interests?

Outside of business, I just love to spend time with my family, because being a entrepreneur takes up a lot of your personal time.

This entry was posted in Featured Entrepreneurs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March Madness Feature: Wiz Productions

  1. skizzie da chief says:

    How do I get in contact with wiz productions

Leave a Reply

