March Madness Feature: L’Afropolitan PR and Special Events

Simona Noce took a leap of faith when she decided to put her business savvy-ness to use and start her very own PR firm. Now, one year later, the 22 year old has successfully grown L’Afropolitan to execute top public relations and event planning services.

IP: Start by telling us what you do.

I am the CEO and principal strategist at L’Afropolitan PR and Special Events. It is a DC based communication boutique. As a communication professional I handle public relations,branding and campaign work for those involved in the entertainment,fashion and lifesyle industries. I also utilize my public relations skills for grassroot advocacy and campaigns.

IP: What is your favorite quote? 

“He Who Has A Why To Live Can Bear Almost Any How” Friedrich Nietzsche

IP: How has your age factored in to your success?

It can definitely be a deterant. Being 22 might send the idea that you don’t know what you’re talking about. In some sense it might be true, I don’t have as much experience as those who are 7 years in the game but experience doesn’t necessarily equate to favorable results all the time.

IP: How long did it take for you to get started and get to this point?

Actually I’ve always been business savvy but I brought L’Afropolitan May 4th 2011. I wanted to put the bait out to see if anyone will bite. Fortunately things have been going really well. It took me about 3 months to really get things together. Well, as together as it can be for starting up but I’m still tweaking, revamping and expanding.

IP: What has been working for you, and your ultimate vision for your company?

Being genuine. Staying attentive and true to the purpose of my company and what is driving me, instead of solely focusing on the financial benefits. I think taking my time, doing things at my own pace and monitoring my deliveries and the feeback allows me to locate the need of my audience and secure where I fit in it.

IP: What have been your biggest barriers in achieving that vision?

Of course money is always a big thing. However finding the right people to get on your team. It’s one persons vision, and those who are passionate about it come on the team, but that is misconstrued at times. Sometimes we aren’t mature or bold enough to separate business from friendships and that can be a huge barrier. Being a one man team can sometimes be difficult so I sincerely appreciate those who volunteer their time, skill and commitment level to the L’Afropolitan deam, however I know and they know that the best is yet to come.

IP: What advice would you give to new up and coming entrepreneurs?

It is better to find your focus, believe in it, understand the need for it and realize why you are the one to deliver your goals/dreams etc. Once you’re sure of that , you’ll gain a great sense of clarity and you won’t drop the ball.

IP: What blogs and publications do you read to get advice?

Ooooo geez. I’m a blog girl. Well first I love my own blog. missnoce.com 😉 (shameless plug) . I read Verysmartbrothas.com , urbancusp.com , DMVAFRICANS.com, thegoodhairblog.com and gorgeousingrey.com . There are so many more I’m sure I’m forgetting but those are the main 3.

IP: Who is your favorite up and coming entrepreneur, and why?

A good friend of mine, Dunnie Onsanya of MissDunnieO.Com 🙂 She’s based in LA and handles special events there. She is one of my favs up and coming because she is dedicated to her craft and patient enough to watch it unfold.

IP: Anything else you would like to add: (pictures of merchandise, links to websites, upcoming events/ promotions, etc.)

Please follow me on twitter and tweet me. I’m very friendly @missnoce . Also check out www.lafropolitan.com and my blog missnoce.com

This entry was posted in Featured Entrepreneurs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

