March Madness Feature: Stan Banks LLC

Photography, web design, logo design, and graphic design…. Stan Banks LLC is a one stop shop for all your creative and graphic needs!

IP: Start by telling us more about yourself and your business (educational background, hometown, age you started your business, how business came about, etc.)

My name is Stan Banks and I am 23 years old. I currently attend Cheyney University of Pennsylvania with a major in computer science and minor in graphic design.

I have been working on computers one way or another since my senior year of high school, where I built my first website and have been perfecting my web design skills ever since. Two years ago I co-founded a creative design company, which eventually dissolved. I am now starting over with my own business ventures. StanbanksLLC covers Graphic Design, Web design, and photography. SBdezign.com covers design and photography, SBImagery.com covers wedding photography, SBInaction deals with youth sports, and StanBanks.com is my design blog.

IP: Quote that keeps you motivated?

“98 percent of us go pro in something else”

The NCAA commercial hits home, especially since I was a college athlete up until last year. We all have dreams of going big time but I knew before leaving high school I wouldn’t have a chance. I was actually told to stop playing before entering college after my second shoulder surgery, instead I kept playing. Football was the only thing I knew better than computers.
IP: What has been your biggest obstacle being a young entrepreneur and how did you overcome it?

Figuring out how much to charge clients has been a big obstacle. I just kept researching and to be honest it’s still a work in progress. Secondly, I have a learning disability of short term memory and it affected my reading for some time. I still don’t like to read so I find books that are straight to the point and include color and pictures and also video tutorials.

IP: How has age factored into your success?

I think I’ve made alot progress, but haven’t reached what I feel is success.

IP: Describe a day in the life of (company name)?

I am a student so school is always first. I wake up and check my email, facebook, and white board. I write out the things I need to design based on the stages they are in and when they need to be done. Throughout the day I usually respond to inquiries and requests for graphic or web design. I do any website updates that come through and changes requested to a design. My creative design work usually doesn’t start until after 10pm and may not be finished until 3am, depending on the work load. I find this is when I am most creative. Once the designs are complete, I send out the proofs.

IP: Where do you see your company in the next 5 years?

I only look 3 years out and I plan to be established as a complete media solution for small businesses and individuals. I would like to add viso to the design portion of my business and also add wedding photography as a branch under the LLC.

IP: What advice would you give up and coming entrepreneurs?

Ask Questions, Network, and Research. I ask the same questions to every person I know doing the stuff I am doing and I listen to everyone and modify it to work for me. No matter what the answer is you can apply it somehow. Networking is key! I learned to talk to everyone and be genuinely interested in what they are talking about. You should be able to say what you do without forcing yourself on someone and have a card so they can remember you. I learned most of what I know for my business outside of college. I just recently picked up a minor in design and have already been working on major projects. I think that shows you may not need a traditional education for everything. At least for my industry, a portfolio says more than a degree.

IP: What blogs and publications do you read to get guidance as an entrepreneur?

I could go on for days. froknowsphoto.com for anything dealing with photography. He has over 1000 videos on photography, all free. 90% of my photography knowledge came from him.
Mlwebo.com for my web design knowledge and JustCreative.com for logo design and the design process.

I wrote a blog post called “Follow Your Way to Success” that covers about 8 or so of the blogs I check on a regular basis.

http://stanbanks.com/index.php/component/k2/item/5-follow-your-way-top-success

IP: Outside of your business, what are your other interests?

Sports. I coach youth teams in the summers and a traveling group of high school kids from Delaware who travel to play some of the country’s best. I have also been asked back to assist with my college’s football team. I also play chess, pool, and bowl.

Anything else you would like to add? (pictures of merchandise or logo, additional facts about your business, links, upcoming events/promotions, etc.)
stanbanksLLC on twitter and facebook
StanBanks.com blog
SBImagery.com (youth sports photos will be moved to SBInAction.com and SBImagery.com will be weddings this time next year)
and SBDezign.com (coming april 15th)

This entry was posted in Featured Entrepreneurs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March Madness Feature: Stan Banks LLC

  1. Wanda Lee says:

    I am the proud mother and the #1 fan of this young man. His father ( Jerry Lee ) have been his #1 supporters. I want him to know that as of this day he no longer has a learning disability but a learning challenge. You over came that disability the day you decided to face it head on. Sports were your first love at a early age, being a pro when you could not read. I said follow your dean but have a back up plan and you did. So all I can sa son is job well done.

Leave a Reply

