March Madness Feature: Blyden Multimedia & Consulting

All month we’ve been featuring small, independent businesses. Blyden Multimedia & Consulting is an agency that can help these small businesses and others like them accomplish their company goals and take them to another level of success.

IP: Start by telling us more about yourself and your business (educational background, hometown, age you started your business, how business came about, etc.)

I graduated from Morgan State University thinking that I wanted to be a reporter….at least that’s what I thought. It just so happened that in my last semester I got a job with WJZ-13 as an Associate Producer. At first there was alot to learn. There were challenges and great opportunities, but I could never imagine retiring from working that type of job. I was unfulfilled. Little did I know, God was already setting me up for my calling.

Prior to working for CBS, I was employed with the State of Maryland’s Minority Business Enterprise Program. There I was exposed to many thriving minority business owners, introduced to the program, and was extended the opportunity to make decisions concerning the process. So when I realized that CBS was not where I wanted to be, a light bulb came on. Many people in this day and age think that getting a state or federal job is the life, but the way I see it, you spend more time at work than at home….you need to do what you love. In these economic times, no job is secure anyway.

I love to encourage entrepreneurship, help people small ideas cultivate their visions……but I also love the communications field. Now I do all that I love with Blyden Multimedia & Consulting.

Educational background: Morgan State University 2011 Grad
Starting Grad School in April 2012 – seeking MBA (UMUC)
Hometown: Baltimore

I started my business at the age of 25, and it’s be one year now. I’m impressed by my progression, but more excited about what’s to come.

IP: Quote that keeps you motivated?

“If you do something that you would do for free (as a career), you’ll be the best at it.” – Oprah Winfrey

“You can’t build a reputation on what you are going to do.”
-Henry Ford

“Most great people have attained their greatest success just one step beyond their greatest failure.” – Napoleon Hill

IP: What has been your biggest obstacle being a young entrepreneur and how did you overcome it?

My biggest obstacle was struggling with balance. When you become an entrepreneur it’s easy to spend every waking moment building your business. You have to be careful not to neglect your responsibilities as a mom, wife, friend, daughter, sister, etc. Although you become a walking brand for the business, you should always set work hours for balance.

IP: How has age factored into your success?

Fortunately for me, I started my business directly after college and right before having my second child. Because I was married, it was easy for me to pursue my dreams of starting a business and still have financial security. This was the perfect time to pursue my dreams.

IP: Describe a day in the life of (company name)?

All I can say is “late nights and early mornings.” And I do mean early…..like 4:30 a.m. Now that Blyden Multimedia & Consulting is beginning to outsource some of my work, things are getting a little better. I quickly realized that the life of an entrepreneur is a sleepless one, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I love what I do!

IP: Where do you see your company in the next 5 years?

I see us with a staff of at least 5 (excluding myself), a nice commercial building, and being among the leading consulting firms on the East Coast. We have some exciting things in the works for aspiring entrepreneurs. I’m excited.

IP: What advice would you give up and coming entrepreneurs?

God doesn’t give you a dream without the tools to cultivate it. You just have to use what He gave you and get out of your own way. Don’t make it complicated, step out on faith, and dream big.

IP: What blogs and publications do you read to get guidance as an entrepreneur?

I read Forbes Magazine, The New York Times, The Baltimore Business Journal, Watch OWN, etc…….but most of my guidance comes from mentors and other people in my life and community that believe in me.

IP: If you could pick a celebrity to be the spokesperson for your company/brand who would it be and why?

It would have to be Oprah Winfrey. I’ve learned so much from her story. She was one of the people that everybody counted out, and today, one of the most powerful people in the world. She’s an inspiration to any entrepreneur.

IP: Outside of your business, what are your other interests?

One thing that people probably don’t know about me is that I enjoy nature and I love fishing. It really clears my mind. Beyond that, I enjoy spending time with my family and doing anything that makes me laugh.

IP: Anything else you would like to add? (pictures of merchandise or logo, additional facts about your business, links, upcoming events/promotions, etc.)

BMC hosts a monthly webinar to inform business owners about doing business with the state and federal government. Go to www.doingbusinesswiththestate1.eventbrite.com to register. Also, check out our blog daily for business tips and tricks.www.blydenbiztips.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Featured Entrepreneurs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

