March Madness Feature: Temple Fitness

A great workout can make a world of difference for your mind, body, and soul. Temple Fitness owner and trainer, Robert Booker has what it takes to help you get in shape!

IP:  Start by telling us more about yourself and your business (educational background, hometown, age you started your business, how business came about, etc.)

 My name is Robert Booker and I am from Baltimore, MD.  I attended Overlea High School where I was a starting triple-sport athlete. I played lacrosse, basketball, and football, with varsity letters in all sports.   In 2003 I graduated high school, went onto Morgan State and 3 years later became the Audio Visual Coordinator for the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing.

While I was working at JHU, my interest in health and fitness sparked.  I started eating properly, researching on how to be healthier, and going to the gym every night after work. Soon I began to notice remarkable changes my body. I began to enjoy my new perspective on life. I became a certified personal trainer just to gain more knowledge on the subject and lifestyle. Being content with my position at the time, I had no intention of being a full time fitness instructor. I really just wanted to learn more about health and fitness as a hobby.

After 4 years, JHU decided to eliminate my position. I immediately started personal training to occupy my time until I was rehired. In the time that I was waiting to be called back for interviews, I’d gained about 10 clients. Things skyrocketed from there. I told myself that if I wasn’t rehired at JHU, then personal training was my purpose and destiny. Needless to say, I wasn’t rehired and Temple Fitness has been going strong since. At age 24, in 2010, I founded Temple Fitness, after realizing how much I really loved being shape, living healthily and working out, and wanted the same for those around me. I’ve trained all kinds people with all types of goals: the everyday person trying to lose weight and beat hereditary disease, professional athletes getting ready for the upcoming season, and high profile individuals just trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle and image.

Our motto at TF is SEE. BELIEVE. PURSUE.  See the change you desire. Believe in your ability to change and our ability to help you change. Pursue that change with everything in you. We are all about empowering people to believe in their ability change themselves and their world by equipping them with the knowledge and tools to go out and do so. Healthy hearts, minds, bodies and spirits are important to living the best and most fulfilled life as possible. Educate, empower and evolve!

 IP:  Quote that keeps you motivated?

 “Champions aren’t made in the gyms. Champions are made from something they have deep inside them … a desire, a dream, a vision.”

– Muhammad Ali

 IP:  What has been your biggest obstacle being a young entrepreneur and how did you overcome it?

As a young entrepreneur, my biggest obstacle has been getting people to believe in my vision.  I’m young, and fitness is currently one of the top growing industries in the world, so everyone wants to know what sets Temple Fitness apart from the next fitness company.  I have overcome this by first and foremost, always believing in my vision and myself.  I learned a long time ago that no one will believe in you if you don’t believe in yourself.  Secondly, I haven’t encountered one skeptic I couldn’t turn into a believer after one conversation with me. This is simply because I am so passionate about what I do. After talking with me once and letting me explain the foundational beliefs and morals Temple Fitness is built on and the vision for where I want the company to go, it is hard for a potential client, or really anyone, not to believe in my vision. We are so much more than just another fitness company trying to get people in shape. Our goal is to transform lives!

 IP:  How has age factored into your success?

Being a young, innovative trainer has been a great element to my success. A lot of older clients are excited to train with me to help keep themselves young, healthy and full of life.  Also, when people see how old I am and see my level of focus, drive and ambition, they respect me and appreciate vision a lot more.

IP:  Describe a day in the life of Temple Fitness?

 Temple Fitness trains people of all ages, genders and with various lifestyles. Certain days I’ll wake up and go for a run, then train 2 weight loss clients.  After which I will meet up with my professional NFL players to help them train and stay in shape during the off-season.  Midday, I take a break from my clients; I eat lunch, do some office work, and go to the gym to do my personal workout. I’ll finish up the evening with 2- 3 more clients trying to sculpt their bodies.  Yet, no day is ever the same, but that is what I love the most about what I do! Most people ask me how I am motivated to train from 6am-9pm, Monday through Saturday— it is because there’s never a dull, boring moment. My workouts with my clients change day-to-day, as old goals are reached, new goals arise, and new clients present new challenges. Things are always changing because that is what we want to see with our clients— constant changes for the better! If things are staying the same, we aren’t pushing and working hard enough!

IP:  Where do you see your company in the next 5 years?

 In the next 5 years I see Temple Fitness, which is currently mobile, housed in a major training facility, still catering to the needs of our community and helping transform lives. Our clientele will range from youth to soccer moms seeking to stay fit, college athletes training for pro day and pro athletes staying in shape for the season, to politicians and high profile individuals just wanting to increase their life expectancy and be healthy. Most importantly, continuing to stand on the same principles and values that were implemented at the conception of Temple Fitness.

IP:  What advice would you give up and coming entrepreneurs?

 I’d like to encourage up and coming entrepreneurs to keep God first!  Go after your dreams.  Don’t stop.  Don’t sleep.  Stay focused. Stay motivated. When no one believes in you, believe in yourself.  You already have everything within you to make anything you want happen!  Everyone has a purpose, and if you’re going full speed ahead to fulfill it, nothing and no one can stop you!

IP: What blogs and publications do you read to get guidance as an entrepreneur?

 One of my favorite fitness blogs is gymjunkies.com.  I also subscribe to YouTube fitness channels and look up videos on new techniques from fellow trainers to help study my craft and stay current whenever I am not training.  I spend a lot of time with my head in a book or fitness magazine.  I am in Barnes & Noble at least once a week getting a new book or picking up magazines. Men’s/Women’s Health and CrossFit are my magazines of choice.  The latest book I picked up is Celso Cukierkorn’s, “Secrets of Jewish Wealth Revealed”, which was recommended by one of mentors for money management and financial planning.

IP: If you could pick a celebrity to be the spokesperson for your company/brand who would it be and why?

 If I could pick a celebrity to be the spokesperson for Temple Fitness, it would be President Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama.  President Obama is successfully doing something no one ever thought would be done as the 1st black POTUS, and Lady Michelle is very health conscious and making a difference with her “Let’s Move” campaign.  They not only inspire me personally, to never give up on my dreams no matter how many naysayers there are, but their focus on health, fitness and CHANGE is exactly what I envision for Temple Fitness. They make an awesome team and are very inspiring!

IP: Outside of your business, what are your other interests? 

 In addition to training, I’m a musician at heart. I’m an audio engineer and I mix live sound at my church. I also do studio work when I have free time. Music was my first love and has always kept me grounded.

IP:  Anything else you would like to add? 

 

**UPCOMING EVENT: FITNESS BOOTCAMP

                                   When: MONDAYS, 5PM – 6:30PM

                                   Where: 1505 Eutaw Place, Baltimore, MD 21217

           Cost: $10            

           For more info: Call 410-921-0046

                                   *Bring a towel, a bottle of water & a yoga mat

                        

This entry was posted in Featured Entrepreneurs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

