March Madness Feature: Danielle Lewis Beauty

If you know anything about makeup, then you know finding a professional that truly understands and is able to apply it isn’t always an easy task. Thanks to Danielle Lewis every girl can enjoy beautiful makeup application and a gorgeous line of cosmetics. The gifted makeup artist is making her mark, one beautifully painted face at a time!

IP: Start by telling us more about yourself and your business (educational background, hometown, age you started your business, how business came about, etc.)

I have always loved makeup but it wasn’t until 2008 that I decided to turn my passion into a career. My background is in marketing. I decided to get my makeup artistry certification while working doing marketing events in DC. I figured it would be fun to do and really didn’t have any grand plans of becoming a serious artist. After finishing the class, I literally just “started” working and I haven’t stopped since. Doing makeup and having my clients inquire about the products I use and where to get them lead me to launch my own cosmetics line, Danielle Lewis Beauty.

IP: Quote that keeps you motivated?

I LOVE quotes so my favorite always changes. A few that have stood the test of time are “Obstacles are what we see when we take our eyes off of the prize”, “Don’t let people living their nightmare tell you that you can’t live your dreams” and “Time flies, good thing your the pilot”

IP: What has been your biggest obstacle being a young entrepreneur and how did you overcome it?

In addition to being an entrepreneur I’m also a wife and mother. At times, its very difficult to balance it all. Its been a challenge making it all work but I have an amazing support system. My husband is a dreamer so he “gets” me and my goals. It helps when you have a great teammate that understands the importance of the grind.

IP: How has age factored into your success?

The fact that I am young has really helped me. I feel like I couldn’t deal with so many sleepless nights if I was older 🙂 Being young also gives me the ability to take risks and chances that older people wouldn’t take.

IP: Describe a day in the life of (company name)?

I have a marketing roadmap that I review everyday. That way, all of the things that I have to accomplish are in one place. Everyday I check out my roadmap, respond to emails, followup with clients, package glosses for shipment, etc. If I have clients booked I’ll add that into the rotation.

IP: Where do you see your company in the next 5 years?

In the next 5 years, I plan to extend my client base and extend my product offerings for my cosmetics line. I am in the process of launching lipsticks and would like to have a full lip line.

IP: What advice would you give up and coming entrepreneurs?

Be sure to find ways to keep motivating yourself. Maintaining motivation is key to success.

IP: What blogs and publications do you read to get guidance as an entrepreneur?

I LOVE O Magazine! I always feel smarter after reading it. I also enjoy Black Enterprise.

IP: If you could pick a celebrity to be the spokesperson for your company/brand who would it be and why?

Good question. Maybe Sanaa Lathan. Whether I’m doing makeup or selling cosmetics, I always have “real women” in mind. I feel like Sanaa Lathan is a beautiful woman with a “girl next door” vibe. I think my clients would relate to her down-to-earth persona.

IP: Outside of your business, what are your other interests? 

I LOVE my family and I spend as much time with them as possible. I’m also a huge foodie and I love going to different restaurants.

This entry was posted in Featured Entrepreneurs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

