March Madness Feature: Wyatt Accounting

Sydney Wyatt is an accomplished CPA, talented artist, and professional model all before the age of 29. This dedicated business professional sets her eyes on a goal and works hard to accomplish it by any means necessary.

 

IP: Start by telling us more about yourself and your business (educational background, hometown, age you started your business, how business came about, etc.)

I was born and raised in the suburbs of Baltimore City. I attended Baltimore Polytechnic Institute and studied engineering. I went to Bucknell University to pursue computer science engineering, but I realized that computer science was not the right field for me. I changed my major and started to study accounting and marketing since math was always my strongest subject. I have a bachelor’s degree in financial economics from University of MD, Baltimore County. I took advanced accounting classes at University of Baltimore and went on to become a certified public accountant (CPA). I started my own small business just doing personal taxes while I was still in college. I believe I was 20 years old. My business got many referrals because my clients considered me down to earth and very approachable. I then branched out to small business income tax filing, and later business and corporate consulting. This is when “Wyatt Accounting, LLC” was born. Once I attained my CPA designation, my business increased triple fold. I now have an assistant and office space in order to keep up with the demands of my growing client base.

IP: Quote that keeps you motivated?

“Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;  courage to change the things I can;  and wisdom to know the difference.”

IP: What has been your biggest obstacle being a young entrepreneur and how did you overcome it?

Getting people to take me seriously, especially older people, was a challenge initially.

IP: How has age factored into your success?

I think a lot of people look at me in my sweatpants and Ugg boots, and they are literally shocked when they learn that I am a CPA and accomplished business owner. I am the same person that I have always been, and I will always be. I am young, but mature. I can be casual, but I switch gears when earning money and clients are involved. People may think more highly of me when they see what I have accomplished by the age of 24, 25, 26, 27, and 28. I set different goals for myself each year, and I accomplish and surpass them. When I was 24 I purchased a house. When I was 25 I started taking the CPA exam seriously and began my initial paperwork. When I was 26 I gained employment at a federal agency to supplement the income of my small business. When I was 27 I passed the CPA. When I turned 28 I told myself that I wanted 5 new personal income tax clients, and 3 new business clients. This year I have 15 new personal income tax clients, and 5 new business clients. When I turn 29 my goal is to own more real estate property for rental or investment income.

IP: Describe a day in the life of (company name)?

A day in the life of Wyatt Accounting, LLC could go many ways. If it’s tax season, I’ll respond to emails in the morning regarding tax questions. I will also get a few phone calls from clients inquiring about the status of their tax refunds. I may meet a client at my office to file their taxes. If I’m not so busy with taxes, then I will be at one of my business clients’ offices with my laptop, going over some reports and collecting information for quarterly filing.

IP: Where do you see your company in the next 5 years?

Hopefully over the next 5 years I will have 3-5 additional employees, and I will have some CPA partners at my firm. I hope to have 30 new personal tax clients, and 15 new business clients over that time period.

IP: What advice would you give up and coming entrepreneurs?

Research exactly what needs to be done, to get where you want to go. And once you find out what you need to do, DO NOT give up. Surround yourself with people that want to see you succeed and do not feed in to negativity.

IP: What blogs and publications do you read to get guidance as an entrepreneur?

I get weekly updates from the MACPA (MD Assoc. of CPA’s) and I check the CPA2Biz website. I also read articles issued by the AICPA (American Institute of CPAs).

IP: If  you could pick a celebrity to be the spokesperson for your company/brand who would it be and why?

I would only pick myself to represent my brand. These days, celebrities have so much going on and so much scandal that eventually comes to light.

IP: Outside of your business, what are your other interests? 

I am an artist and model.

IP: Anything else you would like to add? (pictures of merchandise or logo, additional facts about your business, links, upcoming events/promotions, etc.)

You can learn more about me and my business ventures at www.SydneyWyatt.com

This entry was posted in Featured Entrepreneurs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

