March Madness Feature: Candice Nicole Public Relations

Young, innovative, and vibrant publicist, Candice   Nicole is taking the entertainment public relations world by storm. Within 4 years, Candice has already achieved great success as she represented talented artists, was named WKYS 93.9’s Top 30 Under 30 and helped organize DMV Helps Haiti Benefit Concert which raised over $37,000.

IP: Start by telling us more about yourself and your business (educational background, hometown, age you started your business, how business came about, etc.)

My name is Candice and I started Candice Nicole Public Relations at age 22/23. I attended Morgan St Univ and graduated in 2007 with a degree in Communications, with a concentration in Public Relations. I was born in Washington, DC and raised in Montgomery County. My business came about June 20, 2007 at LOVE Nightclub actually. DMX was performing and I was a promoter at the time so I attended with my good friend who was a singer. Cassidy was also in town for the AND-1 Tour and we met his camp. They asked who we were and I simply stated “I’m her publicist” and CNPR was born that night!

IP: Quote that keeps you motivated? 

I really don’t have a quote that I go by. However, one that sticks out with me personally is my own saying of “there is always a good way to do business”. I am surrounded by many folks in the entertainment industry who cut corners and are snakes. That is not how I handle my business, so I always keep that motto close to my heart.

IP: What has been your biggest obstacle being a young entrepreneur and how did you overcome it? 

Hm, my obstacle has not come because of my age, it has been because of my sex. As a female in a male dominated industry (even though you see a lot more women, men are still in charge for the most part). I overcame that issue by proving myself. I have always carried myself with respect and dignity and individuals see that.

IP: How has age factored into your success? 

Just me being young and open to try new things, to explore..that has been a definite help in my success.

IP: Describe a day in the life of (company name)

Well, let me start by saying that no day is ever the same and I LOVE that 🙂 I keep late hours, with the average time of me going to between 3-4a, so I get up between 9-10a. My day begins with my getting some water and checking email (which I have started to check on my Blackberry because I sleep with my “canDi berry”..haha!). I will then have some breakfast, check my Twitter timeline. At this time I will also start drafting pitches to send out for my clients. If I have any meetings that day, I will start to get ready, getting notes together, etc.

More recently I have started to work out everyday of the week, so I will make time to go to the gym for a 45 min cardio, then lunch..perhaps I can squeeze in a nap. Dinner comes, and after I am back on “Moonlight” working, checking/responding to more email then rest. The blackberry is always on me though, so even if I am resting in my room, if a business email comes in, I will answer. I am always “on”.

IP: Where do you see your company in the next 5 years? 

In the next 5 years, I want CNPR to be one of the premiere event PR firms nationwide. My goal this year is to get more involved with larger projects and social media campaigns as well.

IP: What advice would you give up and coming entrepreneurs? 

My advice is very simple: “Always remain a student”. Embrace others who have been in the business for some time, seek out individuals on the come up, be VERY resourceful,  and have an open mind.

IP: What blogs and publications do you read to get guidance as an entrepreneur?

I love Joel Osteen books and Steve Stoute’s lastest book. I keep with prsa.org, prnewswire.com. However, most of my guidance has come from me observing others, going back to my college text books and experiencing LIFE as it comes.

IP: If you could pick a celebrity to be the spokesperson for your company/brand who would it be and why?

Hands down, Queen Latifah. She is a woman on the go, very motivated, determined and innovative. I appreciate the class that she always delivers when seen in public and she is a business woman! she has also been one who had made incredible transitions within the ent world. She went rapping about “U-N-I-T-Y” & “Ladies First” to being an Oscar Nominated actress from the film “Chicago”, to a fashion designer, producer of film and so much more. She embodies LONGEVITY and I admire that about her.

IP: Outside of your business, what are your other interests? 

I love to read, travel, cook and explore new fashion trends. I am also a lover of FILMS 🙂

IP: Anything else you would like to add? (pictures of merchandise or logo, additional facts about your business, links, upcoming events/promotions, etc.) 

My twitter is @CandiceNicolePR and my FB page for my company is www.facebook.com/candicenicolepublicrelations

This entry was posted in Featured Entrepreneurs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March Madness Feature: Candice Nicole Public Relations

Leave a Reply

