Passion, Faith, and Perseverance

I don’t view PR as a career path I just happened to fall into; I see it more as what I was placed on earth to do. Anyone who asks me about public relations and why I chose to enter this field will tell you that I have a true, sincere passion for what I do. That passion has driven me to build my own agency with little to nothing and try and build success in a place where many people don’t know what public relations is.

Just to give a little background information on myself, I was working a dead-end job as a clerk at a disability representative’s office while studying for my master’s degree in Public Relations. I knew I wasn’t going to be there long because I absolutely hated it. I didn’t want the life my coworkers had. A life that they just gave up on by forgetting their dreams and aspirations and settling for a low paying, “secure” job. So my constant talk about how I wanted to own my own PR agency got on their nerves to say the least and they decided I wasn’t a “good fit” for their company. And just like that, I was fired. I had never been fired from a job in my life so I knew my performance had nothing to do with it

While searching the web for employment, I decided to take a leap of faith and start my own agency, J. Simien PR, Inc.. With my focus completely on generating new business, I was able to make valuable industry connections within one week of starting my venture. Connections that to this day still mentor and advise me.

Having an agency in Mississippi is not easy. We lack a lot of local media outlets and the people here have this bandwagon mentally so gaining support for new movements is often frustrating. I’ve thought a lot about moving and I may do that one of these days, but for now I’m here to stay. I have a tremendous opportunity to dominate the market here and that’s exactly what I’m focusing on in 2012. My motto is that you cannot make excuses for yourself. Anything you want to do in life you can do – it’s about how bad you want it.

Jessica Simien, J. Simien PR, Inc.

www.jsimienpr.com

Follow Jessica on Twitter! @jsimienPRinc

This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Passion, Faith, and Perseverance

  1. Anthony Casson says:

    The emotions I’m experiencing after reading this post are unusual. I have this burning desire to live a torturous life. And by that, I mean build my own business.

    Instead of staring at my screen, hoping I’ll discover the right words, I’ll just say thanks for this post. It’s lovely. I hope I’ll get a chance in the future to actually pick your brain a little.

  2. Pingback: Jessica’s Post for Ideal Publicity’s Blog | JSPR Company Blog | www.jsimienpr.com

Leave a Reply

