March Madness Feature: Dream Girls Mentoring

There are so many organizations designed to help young ladies, but there aren’t many that are ran by inspiring 25 year old women. Dream Girls Mentoring is one of the amazing exceptions. Founded by Tamira Dunn, Dream Girls Mentoring is a Baltimore based nonprofit organization designed to uplift, empower, and educate teen mothers.

IP: Start by telling us what you do

I am the CEO/Founder of Dream Girls Mentoring Program Inc. Dream Girls is a 501c3 nonprofit organization that provides resources and support to teenage mothers in Baltimore Md. We strive to empower, educate, and uplift young moms to be successful young ladies. We currently have a partnership with WEB Dubois High School. We provide workshops on self-esteem, etiquette, preparation for higher education, health awareness, and more. We also provide each young mom with a mentor.

IP: What is your favorite quote? 

My favorite quote is “Be the change you want to see in the world” Mahatma Gandhi. I believe that change starts with you. Everyone has the potential to make changes

IP: How has your age factored in to your success?

I believe that my age factors into my success because no one expects for someone at 25 to really care enough to start their own mentoring program. Everywhere  I go I hear “wow you’re only 25” or “there aren’t to many people your age doing anything like this”. I also am able to relate more to the girls being young. They feel like I am actually someone they can talk to and not a parent or social worker.

IP: How long did it take for you to get started and get to this point?

I knew in my sophomore year at Morgan State University that I wanted to start my own nonprofit. I knew that when graduated from college that’s exactly what I wanted to do. I graduated from Morgan in May 2008 and Dream Girls was incorporated on August 27, 2008. It took me 3 months to actually began the process of starting my own mentoring program.

IP: What has been working for you, and your ultimate vision for your company?

Our partnership with local high schools and other successful youth organizations has been working for us thus far. My vision for Dream Girls is to be implemented in at least three Baltimore City High Schools in addition to a community program which would be ran on the weekends for those teen moms that are not enrolled in the three schools. We have three more phases of Dream Girls; one being a psychiatric rehabilitation program, residential facility, and a charter school. Dream Girls will definitely be known worldwide.

IP: What have been your biggest barriers in achieving that vision?

The biggest barriers are not having our own meeting space. Using community space sometimes poses a problem on weekly meetings and workshops. If the community space we use is being occupied on a day we need to use it, we may have to reschedule or cancel our plans. Another barrier is funding. With limited funding we are unable to do some activities and events that may be beneficial for our girls.

IP: What advice would you give to new up and coming entrepreneurs?

DREAM BIG never allow someone to tell you that you cannot accomplish your goals. Never be afraid to try something even if you believe its already been done just be different in your approach.

IP: What blogs and publications do you read to get advice?

I honestly don’t read any blogs but I would love to start

IP: Who is your favorite up and coming entrepreneur, and why?

Since I started Dream Girls I have ran across some amazing entrepreneurs and their hard work and dedication for their business inspires me to keep pushing my own Dream. I like to give credit where credit is due to my fellow entrepreneur’s right here in Baltimore. Raveyn Jones, Tocaria Gardner, Erica Hunter, Jessica Marie, Wynsdi Custis, Shanae Monique, and Yolanda Jenkins. Another entrepreneur I look up to is Ms. Akissi Brooks-Hill from Arkansas.

IP: ANYTHING else you would like to add: (pictures of merchandise, links to websites, upcoming events/ promotions, etc.)

Our website is www.dreamgirlsmentoring.org. It will be updated within the next two weeks.

Save the Date: 5-12-12 2nd annual Girl Talk Conference. 



  

This entry was posted in Featured Entrepreneurs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

